Chakra meaning: What are the seven chakras? | Express


Christine McGuinness shows off her impressive yoga workout

Chakra literally means “wheel” in the Sanskrit language, which is one of the 22 official languages of India. But what are chakras, and how can you use the idea to improve your life? reveals everything you need to know about the seven chakras based on Semra Haksever’s book, Mama Moon’s Book of Magic.

You’ve probably heard someone talking about how their chakras are out of line or blocked… but you’ve got no clue what this actually means.

According to spirituality expert Semra, to imagine how the chakras work you must imagine a cosmic wheel of energy spinning, creating a vortex of energy which connects your body to the Universe.

She writes: “Each chakra is connected to emotional, physical and spiritual areas of your life.

“They absorb and filter all of your thoughts, actions and behaviours, and soak up from and react to people and energy around you”.

It’s really easy for chakras to become blocked, and yours are most likely a bit congested right now.

Semra explains: “When we come into contact with negative energy and the stresses and struggles of everyday life, there is a good chance that your chakra energy fields may have been whirling and swirling over time.

“When this happens, these magical energy portals can get a little bit clogged up and worn out.

“You may find that this can slow you down. You may notice that you are feeling a bit foggy and are unable to make decisions, or are having problems connecting to others or are finding it hard to be able to speak up for yourself.

“You may engage in negative-self talk, or feel a sense of shame, to name a few.”

If this sounds like you, your chakras are completely jammed… but don’t panic – it can be reversed.

READ MORE-  The history of tarot readings: What is tarot? Can it tell the future?

Chakra meaning: Chakra means wheel in Sanskrit (Image: Getty)

Chakra meaning:

Chakra meaning: There are seven main chakras (Image: Getty)

What are the seven chakras?

There are at least 114 chakras in the body, but the seven main chakras are:

The Root Chakra
The Sacral Chakra
The Solar Plexus Chakra
The Heart Chakra
The Throat Chakra
The Third Eye Chakra
The Crown Chakra

Semra explains how to know if each of these chakras are open and what to do if they are blocked.

Each has a colour and crystals associated with it.

Chakra meaning:

Chakra meaning: Use the corresponding crystals (Image: Getty)

The Root Chakra

The Root Chakra is located at the base of your spine and its job is to keep you stable, grounded and secure.

It is red and the crystals associated with it are black tourmaline, obsidian, red jasper, and smoky quartz.

It can become blocked if you are feeling guilty or fearful.

You should take 50ml of an essential oil of your choice, 10 drops of sandalwood and five drops of patchouli oil and rub it on the base of your spine while holding one of the associated crystals.

As you do this, Semra recommended: “Visualise your roots coming out of your spine and flowing into the ground beneath you, feeling the energy gently tying you to the Earth’s centre.”

Repeat this mantra: “I am here, I am safe, I am grounded”

Sacral Chakra

The Sacral Chakra is tied to your sex life, dreams, desires, hormones, sensuality and power.

It is found on your pelvis just below the navel and can become blocked if you experience physical trauma or low energy.

Its colour is orange and the crystals related to it are carnelian and moonstone.

Semra recommends rubbing 50ml of an essential oil of your choice, 10 drops of lemon and five drops of patchouli oil onto the while holding one of the associated crystals.

As you do so, you should “visualize an orange light pouring into this area and filling up your body with good feelings, knowing that you are worthy of all good things.”

Repeat the mantra: “I am comfortable with my body.”

2021 Numerology Prediction: What is going to happen in 2021?  [INFORMER]
2021 horoscope: What’s going to happen in 2021 with Brexit and Covid?  [INSIGHT]
Star sign dates: What are the zodiac signs dates for 2021  [EXPLAINER]

Solar Plexus Chakra

Your Solar Plexus Chakra is to do with personal empowerment and positive energy and you can find it just above your navel.

Opening it up can help you with your self-esteem, confidence, power, and self-worth, and it is easily blocked if you feel as if you are out of control or have low self-esteem or lack of trust.

It is yellow and the crystals associated with it are a citrine or tiger’s eye.

Semra recommends using 50ml of an essential oil of your choice, 10 drops of lavender and five drops of lemon essential oil and rubbing it onto your solar plexus.

Hold one of the crystals as you do so and visualize yellow light entering your chakra and surrounding your body.

Repeat this mantra: “I am worthy of good things.”

Heart Chakra

Of course, the Heart Chakra is found in your heart and is to do with love.

Opening it up can help you with compassion, building healthy relationships, giving and receiving love, joy and inner peace.

It gets blocked up when you experience heartache, grief or lack of compassion.

The colour is green and the crystals are rose quartz, emerald, and green calcite.

Mix an oil of your choice with 10 drops of rose and five drops of lavender essential oil and rub it on the left side of your chest above your heart.

Hold the crystal as you do so and visualise a green light surrounding and supporting you.

Repeat this mantra: “I am open to give and receive love.”

Chakra meaning:

Chakra meaning: Hold the crystals and repeat the mantras (Image: Getty)

Throat Chakra

Your Throat Chakra is found at the centre of your collarbone and clearing it will help you communicate, express yourself, and strengthen your self-respect.

It can become blocked when you are blocked creatively, losing your voice, or repressing your emotions.

It is linked to the colour blue and the crystal lapis lazuli.

Take an oil of your choice, 10 drops of rosemary essential oil and a pinch of thyme and rub it on the area while holding the crystal.

Visualise a blue light travelling through your throat and think about what it is you want to say.

Repeat this mantra: “I communicate with ease and am always understood.”

The Third-Eye Chakra

The Third Eye Chakra is found between your eyebrows and it’s all about your knowledge, wisdom, intuition and spiritual side.

It gets blocked when you are closed-minded or not using your intuition.

Its colour is indigo and it is linked to the crystals amethyst, obsidian, and lapis lazuli.

Take 50ml of a carrier oil, 10 drops of lavender oil, and five drops of sandalwood oil and rub it between your eyebrows while holding one of the crystals

Listen to your mind and see what comes up, visualise an indigo light coming out of the area.

Repeat the manta: “I hear and trust my inner voice.”

The Crown Chakra

You can find the Crown Chakra at the top of your head, exactly where your crown would sit.

The Crown Chakra can get blocked if you are angry, disconnected from others, and lacking trust in yourself.

This is normally what is clogged when you feel off but don’t know why.

Its colour is purple and it is associated with clear quartz, moonstone and labradorite.

Add two drops of peppermint oil and two drops of rose oil to your shampoo and wash your hair while visualising a purple light beaming through your head and spreading to your fingertips.

Welcome in the energy and repeat this mantra: “I am a portal for cosmic energy.”